WHITE’S MILL

0.0

White’s Mill is a former flour mill near Loughrea in Galway. The mill was built around 1800 and operated until the 1960s, producing flour for the local community and beyond. 

White’s Mill is located on the banks of a small River, about 4 km from Loughrea town. It is a simple but imposing structure, with a rectangular plan and four storeys. The mill has a slate roof, stone walls and small windows. The main entrance is on the south side, where a large wooden door leads to the ground floor. On the north side, there is a smaller door that opens to the mill race, which supplied water to power the mill wheel.

The mill was built by John White, a local landowner and entrepreneur, who also owned several other mills in the area. White’s Mill was one of the largest and most modern flour mills in Galway at the time, equipped with iron machinery and capable of producing up to 20 tons of flour per week. The mill employed about 20 workers, who lived in nearby cottages. The flour was sold locally and exported to other parts of Ireland and Britain.

White’s Mill was not only a place of work, but also a place of social and cultural activity. The mill hosted dances, concerts and meetings for various organisations, such as the Irish National League and the Gaelic League. The mill also had a library and a reading room for the workers and their families.

White’s Mill ceased operations in the 1960s, due to competition from larger and more efficient mills. The mill is now a protected structure and a valuable example of Galway’s industrial past. The mill is not open to the public, but it can be seen by the roadside or with the owner’s permission.

LOCATION

53.209859, -8.566912

White's Mill

GALLERY

REVIEWS

There are currently no reviews submitted.

SHARE WITH OTHERS
DISCOVER MORE
NEWSLETTER SIGN UP