TUAM WATER MILL
The Tuam Water Mill is one of the few surviving examples of an urban watermill in Ireland and a testament to the industrial past of Tuam. The Water Mill was built around 1875 on the River Nanny, which flows through the town of Tuam. The mill is a five-bay single-storey building that spans the river and is supported by arches that could have also served as mill races. The mill was used for grinding corn and other grains, as well as producing flour and animal feed. It had a large water wheel on the north side of the building that powered the machinery inside. The mill also had a kiln for drying the grain before milling.
The Tuam Water Mill was an important source of employment and income for the town, as well as a vital part of the local economy and food supply. The mill operated until the 1960s, when it was closed down due to competition from modern mills and changes in agricultural practices. The mill was then abandoned and fell into disrepair, until it was acquired by the local authority in 1998.
Since then, the Tuam Water Mill has been restored and conserved by the Galway County Council, with the help of grants from the Heritage Council and other sources. The mill is now a protected structure and is listed in the National Inventory of Architectural Heritage as being of regional significance. The mill is also open to the public on certain occasions, such as Heritage Week, and hosts educational and cultural events.
The Tuam Water Mill is a rare and valuable example of a water-powered urban mill in Ireland, and a reminder of the industrial heritage of Tuam and Galway.
There are currently no reviews submitted.