LISDUFF MILL

0.0

Lisduff Mill is a four-storey corn mill located near the village of Tynagh in Galway. It dates back to the 18th century and was an important structure for the industrial and economic history of the area. 

The first mill on the site was built around 1790 by John Winters, a local landowner and entrepreneur. He also built a house, a forge, a school and a chapel nearby, creating a small industrial complex. The mill was powered by water from a tributary river of the nearby River Shannon, which was diverted through a series of channels and sluices.

The mill was used to grind corn for local farmers and residents, as well as for export to other markets. It was also a social hub, where people gathered to exchange news and gossip. The mill employed several workers, who lived in cottages adjacent to the mill.

In 1855, the mill was renovated and expanded by John’s son, William Winters. He added two more storeys to the original structure, making it one of the largest mills in the region. He also installed new machinery and equipment, such as iron water wheels, cast iron gears and millstones. He also added a date plaque on the front facade, which still survives today.

The mill continued to operate until the early 20th century, when it faced competition from newer and more efficient mills. It also suffered from a decline in demand for corn products, as people switched to other sources of food. The mill eventually closed down and was abandoned.

Lisduff Mill is a remarkable example of industrial architecture from the 19th century. It has a rectangular plan, with six bays on the ground floor, four bays on the first floor and three bays on the upper floors. The windows are widely spaced and have segmental arches. The walls are made of rubble stone with brick dressings.

The mill incorporates fabric from the earlier structure of 1790, which can be seen in the full-height return to the rear elevation. There is also a single-storey lean-to extension to the east, which was added later. The roof is pitched and covered with corrugated metal sheets.

The mill still retains some of its original features, such as the water channels, sluices, wheel pits and tail races. The interior of the mill is largely empty, but some traces of machinery and equipment can be seen.

Lisduff Mill is an important part of the industrial heritage and cultural landscape of Galway. It reflects the social and economic changes that took place in the area during the 18th and 19th centuries. It also showcases the technological innovations and engineering skills that were involved in building and running such a complex facility.

Lisduff Mill is currently in a state of decay and neglect, and is not open to the public, but can be seen from the roadside or with the owner’s permission.

LOCATION

53.171033, -8.341511

Lisduff Mill

GALLERY

REVIEWS

There are currently no reviews submitted.

SHARE WITH OTHERS
DISCOVER MORE
NEWSLETTER SIGN UP